Fracture Mechanics of Concrete and Concrete Structures

September 10 - 14, 2023

IISc Bangalore

Important Dates

June 15
Submission of abstracts
June 17
Preliminary acceptance
Aug 01
Submission of manuscripts
Aug 08
Notification of final acceptance
Aug 03
Registration opens

About the Conference

Many conferences include discussions of damage, cracking and fracture of concrete, but mostly outside the context of fracture mechanics. Other conferences cover the subject of fracture mechanics, but rarely focused on its application to concrete and concrete structures. IA-FraMCoS was founded to help fill this gap.

Concrete is an archetypical quasibrittle material. It consists of brittle constituents and is characterized by a non-negligible material characteristic length, which endows the material with a behavior that is transitional between the stress-strain relations for distributed damage at small scales and linear elastic fracture mechanics at large scales. This transitional behavior poses difficult challenges for theoretical, experimental and computational research. 

Originally, IA-FraMCoS only activity was the triennial conference series with focus on concrete. Presently, it seeks to expand its activities to cover not only fundamental developments in concrete but also promotion of fracture-based approaches in engineering practice. 

This will be accomplished through the perennial conferences and endorsements of high quality scientific research. 

Previous FraMCoS conferences: 2019 Bayonne (France), 2016 Berkeley (USA), 2013 Toledo (Spain), 2010 Jeju (Korea), 2007 Catania (Italy), 2004 Vail (USA), 2001 Cachan (France), 1998 Gifu (Japan), 1995 Zürich (Switzerland), 1992 Breckenridge (USA) 

Board and Scientific Committee

IA-FraMCoS Board of Directors

  • J. M. Chandra Kishen, President
  • Gilles Pijaudier-Cabot, Past President
  • Gunther Meschke
  • Bernhard Pichler
  • Erik Schlangen

Honorary President: Zdenek P. Bazant

International Scientific Committee

Carmen Andrade

Xiaozhi Hu

Giovanni Plizzari

Nemkumar Banthia

Mija Hubler

Marco di Prisco

Sudhir Barai

Tony Jefferson

Frederic Ragueneau

Joaquim Barros

Minoru Kunieda

G Appa Rao

Zdenek Bazant

Christian La Borderie

Jan Rots

Tulio Bittencourt

Bhushan Karihaloo

Gonzalo Ruiz

John Bolander

Eric Landis

Jacqueline Saliba

Rene de Borst

Christopher Leung

Beatriz Sanz

Ignacio Carol

Victor Li

Victor Saouma

Alberto Carpinteri

Jacky Mazars

Surendra P. Shah

Jan Cervenka

Viktor Mechtcherine

Volker Slowik

Eleni Chatzi

Hirozo Mihashi

Kolluru Subramaniam

Gianluca Cusatis

B. H. Oh

Franz-Josef Ulm

Giuseppe Ferro

Masayasu Ohtsu

Gideon P.A.G. van Zijl

Stephen Foster

Claudia Ostertag

Kasper Willam

Ravindra Gettu

Josko Ozbolt

Shilang Xu

Peter Grassl Anna Pandolfi  

Venue of the Conference

Conference Venue
The conference will be held at the J N Tata Auditorium, National Science Seminar Complex, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. The complex is located on the southern side of the campus, set in an serene atmosphere, ideal for scientific sessions. The complex is fully air-conditioned and houses the main auditorium with three seminar halls for parallel sessions. The lower foyer provides excellent office space and the upper foyer is suitable for exhibits and commercial stalls.
About Bangalore:
India's pride, Bangalore is nearly 500 years old and has grown from a small time settlement  when Kempe Gowda, the architect of Bangalore, built a mud fort in 1537.  Today Bangalore has grown into a sprawling metropolis of more than 10 million people and is referred to as the Silicon Valley of India - accounting for more than 40 percent of India's software exports. Bangalore's temperate climate, high quality educational, scientific and technology institutions coupled with a thriving IT and Bio-Technology and manufacturing industry makes Bangalore one of the most sought after global destinations.

Bangalore is well connected by road, rail and air to most major cities of the country. International airlines, such as Lufthansa, Air France, KLM, Cathay Pacific, Emirates, Etihad, Gulf Air, Japan Airlines, Kuwait Airways, Oman Air, Qatar Airways, Saudia, Air Arabia, Thai Airways, Malaysian Airlines, Air India, Singapore Airlines, British Airways, etc., fly directly to Bangalore.